About the Episcopal Church

St. Anne's is a parish of the Episcopal Church, which is a member of the worldwide Anglican Communion, the churches around the world that trace their roots to the Church of England, and maintain a “communion” with it, hence the name “Anglican.”

“Episcopal” means “bishop” in Greek, and the Episcopal Church is governed in part by its bishops. The basic unit of ministry in the Episcopal Church is the “diocese”. St. Anne's is a parish in the Diocese of Southern Ohio, which is home to 30,000 Episcopalians in 80 parishes across Southern Ohio.

Episcopalians are both catholic and protestant, in that we embrace aspects of both traditions. We honor our roots in the ancient, apostolic and universal Church, yet we do not recognize a centralized teaching authority as do Roman Catholics. We affirm the historic Reforms of the 16th Century, yet we belive in the real presence of Christ in Holy Eucharist, also called "Communion", or the "Mass".

Click on the links to learn more about:
The Episcopal Church
The Anglican Communion
The Diocese of Southern Ohio